A jealous heart

A jealous heart

When I saw him I knew he was the one. He looked healthy, strong, and always had a smile on his face. I still remember how my heart was going nuts as he approached me that day. He asked my name. I fell in love with his voice. With his lips. With his amazing eyes that spoke of love.

Some time later we went on our first date. It was thrilling. It was one of those days where your emotions are all over the place. We went to his house, ate some snacks, took a walk at the park, and he brought me home and planted a sweet kiss on my cheek. I remember my face turning red and smiling like an idiot before stepping into my house and closing the door.

But things have changed now that we’re together. He’s a very attractive guy. Other girls look at him. I see them. They check him out, up and down, and flash him hopeful smiles that fill me with anger. He’s mine, I want to say, but I never do because I don’t want to look like a little girl fighting over a doll. But still, it angers me that my boyfriend attracts so many girls. I know that I should be happy that I’m fortunate enough to be with someone like him, but there’s something that I don’t like about this situation. What if he decides to change me for one of the other girls one day? What if he grows bored of me and looks for someone prettier? Someone younger? Someone more exciting?

Sometimes I wonder how things would’ve been if we switched places. If I was the one with boys throwing themselves all over me, instead of girls hovering all over him. Would he feel the same? Would he grow jealous like me? Would he talk to me about it? I haven’t. I haven’t said a single word about my jealousy. He thinks everything is alright between us. But things aren’t alright. Things are bad. He has too much attention from beautiful girls and I feel like I want to do something drastic about it.

But what? What can I do to soothe my jealous heart?


by Ralph Serr

Leave a Reply

