From Electronic Engineering to Writing

From Electronic Engineering to Writing

I’m a college dropout. I was studying electronic engineering and only got two years in. The main reason why I decided to drop it, is because I didn’t like the reality of it all. Back in high school, when I was considering my options, my eyes landed on electronics and my mind suddenly imagined a whole world where I would graduate and be an awesome electronic engineer, making my own patents and all of that cool stuff. But once I got a year into the college program I suddenly realized that the engineering life wasn’t exactly how I thought it would be. It was different. It was uneventful. It was boring.

Electronics

So I began to lose my concentration in class. I began to become absent way too often, I didn’t do homework, and my mind began to drift away to other parts of the universe. It was all like this for about another year until I decided to completely drop out. This part of my life was a bit depressing, because I didn’t know what the heck I wanted to do with my life. I kept losing myself in my thoughts and it was driving me insane. It got to the point where I wanted to lose myself from reality and not think about my future at all.

So I found peace in books. Ever since I had learned to read, I’ve read loads of them. I still remember the first books I read when I was a kid. Books like No more Monsters for Me by Peggy Parish, the Cam Jansen series by David A. Adler, the Goosebumps series by R.L. Stine, among others. Books have always been a big part of my life and they sort of shaped who I am today. When I dropped out of college, I dug my nose into the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin and something sparked into my mind afterwards. I wanted to write something myself.

Writing

I wanted to write something, so I decided to do just that. After grabbing my computer and opening a new document, I began to type in a few of chapters of this idea I had about a post-apocalyptic world. I made a few characters, surrounded them with problems, and made hell rain down on them as they struggled to survive. When I was about forty pages in, I realized that I didn’t know what the hell I was doing. I deleted the whole thing and started from scratch.

And starting all over again was good because it made me realize that writing isn’t easy. It’s probably the most difficult thing to do if you want to do it right. As I typed in my new chapters I realized that it was amazing. I never knew that it was so fun to create new worlds and breathe life into your characters. That wonderful feeling made me want to keep on writing, which is what I’ve been doing to this day.

And that’s how it went. I dumped electronics at college and began my pursuit of finishing my book. I dropped the post-apocalyptic story because I didn’t really like it in the end, but I took one of the characters from it and created a whole new different story with her. A few weeks ago I just finished the first draft of the novel, which took me about seven months. I still have a long way to go to finish the book, put I’m certainly excited to finish it so the whole universe can take it and read it.

So what I learned after this, is that you don’t have to choose the paths that are most accesible to you. People might expect you to go in certain paths and do certain stuff so you can earn certain things, but if it doesn’t make you happy, then why bother doing it at all? You have to do what makes you happy and excited, because being miserable is not fun at all. If pursuing your goal involes taking loads of risks, take them. Risk everything so you can reach that goal and don’t let anything or anyone stop you. You’ll most likely bump into some near-impossible obstacles, but try your best to shove them aside and keep on moving forward. Wake up every morning and dominate each day like there’s no tomorrow. Like Harley Morenstein said on Twitter: “Grab the day by the back of the neck and throw it down the stairs.”

– Ralph Serr

Leave a Reply

